Search CFI Website

Orion Technical Associates

WBT Showcase


Become A Sponsor

CFI Roundtable

CFI’s Online and Teleconference Meeting Venue 


Attend travel-free conferences!  Hear state-of-the-art briefings from expert speakers with audio-on-demand, and then share your views and expand your network in Q&A discussions by live teleconference. 


Featured Roundtable: Innovation Economics

"Obama's Techonomics Program"

Teleconference Host:

WBT Showcase World's Best Technologies

March 24-25, 2009
Arlington-DFW, TX

Keynote Speaker
Keith Crandell

Robert Boege
ASTRA – Alliance for Science and Technology Research in America

Washington DC

Discussion Leaders
Ray Felts
Connie Luthy
Marc Oettinger

Ray Felts

NineSigma, Inc.

Cleveland, OH

  Connie Luthy, Ph.D.

   Medical Product


  Dallas, TX

Marc Oettinger Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA)

Washington DC   


Join the Discussion!

Call-in number:  712-941-0216

Passcode:   371073 #

"Obama’s Techonomics Program”



Wednesday, January 21, 2008

9:00 am Hawaii
10:00 am Alaska
11:00 am Pacific
12:00 noon Mountain
1:00 pm Central
2:00 pm Eastern


The Breaking Story:

The U.S. House of Representatives leadership has moved quickly to increase funding for key scientific and engineering agencies as part of the latest economic stimulus package, now called the
American Recovery & Reinvestment Act of 2009.  A vote is expected as early as this week, perehaps Thursday, January 22.

Very significant increases over FY 2009 Continuing Resolution amounts are proposed for key science agencies.  These include:

  • $3 billion for the National Science Foundation
  • $1.9 billion for the Department of Energy's Office of Science
  • $300 million for the National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST)

Both the R&D and education provisions of the new House initiative harmonize with President-elect Obama's promise to enhance innovation by providing short-term stimulus spending where it is needed, while providing a long-term basis for economic growth.  Click for details and then CLICK HERE for ASTRA's letter to Speaker Nancy Pelosi.


·         The new funding could easily create a “gold rush” for science and technology funding.

·         Funding priorities may only stimulate an increase in the supply of intellectual “raw materials”.

·         Economic stimulus proposals may push out funding without clearly defined outcomes such as new product launches, improved value propositions for raw IP and technology and captal targetted at “high impact” SMEs, older companies that create the most jobs.  


This Roundtable Teleconference features live call-in Q & A.  All questions are first-come first-serve. 

Don’t delay, send your questions now to:


Want to learn more about Innovation Economics?  Get an update:

Introduction to Innovation Economics -
Teleconference Program 1

click and listen


Support CFI with your fully tax deductible donation. The Capital Formation Institute is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt, nonprofit organization.

Log in
Not a member? Join Now.

Not registered? Click Here.

CFI Roundtables
and Speakers
John Adler John Adler
General Partner
Silver Creek Ventures

Robert Boege Robert Boege
Washington DC

Keith Crandell Keith Crandell
Managing Director
ARCH Venture Partners

Ray Felts Ray Felts
NineSigma, Inc.
Cleveland, OH

Connie Luthy Connie Luthy
Medical Product Innovation
Dallas, TX

Faruq Marikar Faruq Marikar, Ph.D.
Nanobiz, LLC

Richard Meyer
Richard Meyer, Ph.D.
Orion Technical Associates
Founding Board Member – National Association of Seed and Venture Funds

Ed Morrison
Ed Morrison
Executive Director
Institute for Open Economic Networks

Marc Oettinger Marc Oettinger
Washington DC

Bill Reichert
Bill Reichert
Managing Director
Garage Technology Ventures

Thomas Vass
Thomas Vass
Private Capital Markets
Predicting Technology: Identifying Future Market Opportunities and Disruptive Technologies

More CFI Roundtables



Capital Formation Institute, Inc.
a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization
Office of Science, Technology Transfer and Economic Outreach
University at Buffalo, 1576 Sweet Home Rd., Amherst, NY 14228

Contact us at

©2010 CFI
All information herein provided as a public service.
Privacy Policy
CFI does not collect any personal information about visitors to  However, CFI may ask for a limited amount of personal information that helps us respond to your specific requests.  These include regular mailings of announcements about articles, audio programs and new publications, participation in CFI's online and teleconference events, or  purchasing items from the CFI Bookstore.  CFI never shares personal information with third parties.  At any time, you can "opt-out" of receiving CFI's direct mail and marketing material by either contacting or by following "unsubscribe" instructions in any communication.